Tripiṭaka ( lit. three baskets) is a traditional term used by various Buddhist sects to describe the various canons of scriptures. Buddhists of the Theravāda school use the Pali variant Tipitaka to refer what is commonly known in English as the Pali Canon. Later Buddhist traditions also use other terms for their collections of scriptures, such as Kangyur (Tibetan Buddhism) and 大藏經 Dà Zàng Jīng (Chinese Buddhism).  As the name suggests, a Tripiṭaka traditionally contains three “baskets” of teachings: a Sūtra Piṭaka (Sanskrit; Pali: Sutta Pitaka), a Vinaya Piṭaka (Sanskrit & Pali) and an Abhidharma Piṭaka (Sanskrit; Pali: Abhidhamma Piṭaka).

The Chinese Buddhist Canon (Chinese character: 大藏經; pinyin: Dàzàngjīng; Korean: 대장경 Daejanggyeong; Japanese: 大蔵経 Daizōkyō, Vietnamese: Đạitạngkinh), which means Great Treasury of Scriptures, is the total body of Mahayana Buddhist literature deemed canonical in China, Korea and Japan. It includes both Agama, Vinaya and Abhidharma texts from Early Buddhist schools, as well as the Mahayana Sutras of Mahayana Buddhism and scriptures of Tantric Buddhism.